Masquerade

Virtual Masquerade

G-Anime 2020

Confinement inspired you to come up with a new costume?  Did the quarantine give you the motivation to start or finish a new cosplay project?  Are you sad that you couldn't present your new cosplay due to the cancellation of face-to-face conventions this summer? 

 

If you answered 'yes' to one or more of these questions, rejoice, because the G-Anime convention will present a virtual masquerade, and we want you as a participant!  Grab your video camera, your personal ninja and your makeup brush, because it's time to shoot your entry for the masquerade!

 

G-Anime's virtual masquerade is an amateur costume contest featuring characters from anime, manga and video games, television series, novels, and costumes inspired by these works. This amateur competition allows participants to showcase their superb costumes, the excellence of their workmanship, and their creativity.  The costumes will be judged by a panel of experienced cosplayers, who will present awards for excellence in craftsmanship and originality of presentation.

 

 

What you need to know:

When will the masquerade take place? Saturday, October 3rd at 7PM.  The masquerade will be presented on one (or more) streaming platforms (Youtube, Steam, etc).  The awards ceremony will take place immediately after the masquerade through a Facebook Live.

 

When can I register for the masquerade? 

Registration will take place online from September 12-19, 2020, or until the limit of 40 entries is reached. PLEASE NOTE that you will need to send in your video presentation when you register in order for it to be accepted.  Entries without a presentation will not be accepted.

LINK TO ONLINE REGISTRATIONS

 

What kind of presentation can I submit for the Masquerade? 

There are two ways to present a costume: a skit or a walk-on.

i) Skit: a short performance of 1 minute MAXIMUM. Can be done solo or in a group (groups will NOT be allowed more time). If the skit exceeds the time limit, the entry will be disqualified.

 

ii) Walk-on: the participant(s) enter(s) the stage, pose in the middle of the stage to show different angles of their costume, and exit on the other side of the stage. Background music is permitted and must be provided by the participant(s).

 

The maximum number of participants for a single group is 10, from a maximum of 3 different homes. We will not accept a group with more participants than the allowed limit or that does not respect social distancing measures.

 

 

What type of video can I send? 

To be accepted, the video presentation must not exceed 1 minute and must have been filmed respecting the health measures established by your provincial government (social distancing, indoor/outdoor presence, private vs. public place, etc.).  In addition, the soundtrack accompanying your video must comply with Youtube's copyright policies (https://www.youtube.com/intl/fr-CA/about/copyright/#support-and-troubleshooting).     

 

In what digital format should I send my video? 

The accepted digital formats are .MOV and .MP4.  The compression will depend on the transfer site used and will be mentioned during the registration process.  We ask that you also have the soundtrack in a separate format, in case we need to reapply the soundtrack for better sound quality.  We will contact you if this is required during the video editing process.

 

How will the workmanship judging take place? 

Once your registration has been completed and received, we will contact you by email to offer you the choice of a time slot for the workmanship judging (probably on a weekday evening, several evenings will be available as a choice).  This will be done by videoconference with our team of judges (either by Microsoft Team or Google Meet).  It will not be necessary to wear your costume during your virtual meeting with the judges: you will be able to show the details of your outfit to the camera.

 

There are only 40 places available for Sketch or Parade entries.  NO EXCEPTIONS will be accepted.

 

In recognition of the work of the participants, prizes are awarded for the best presentations and costumes.

Rules of the G-Anime

Virtual Masquerade 2020

 

1. The filming of video presentations MUST respect the sanitary and social distancing measures put in place by provincial governments.

 

2. No blatant nudity. The Masquerade is rated "G but not recommended for young children": A work rated "General Visa" may include some scenes of violence. However, these will be few in number, low in intensity, or presented without complacency. Depending on the context, certain variations in language are accepted. (Régie du Cinema, Quebec http://www.rcq.qc.ca/index.asp)

 

3. No live firearms, realistic copies or projectile weapons are permitted. No knives, sharp metal blades or other weapons are permitted.

 

4. Each participant may only enter once during the Masquerade. However, any individual may present as many costumes as he or she wishes, but may only wear one.  The other costumes must be presented by other participants in the same group.

 

5. Participants must submit their video at the time of registration, using the designated sharing site (which will be specified at the time of registration).  NO EXCEPTIONS WILL BE ACCEPTED.  Note that only cases of force majeure can exempt you from this rule ("Act of God").

 

6. The Masquerade Direction reserves the right to eliminate anyone from the competition if participants are disrespectful, lacking in decency, present a danger to the audience and/or other participants, or for any other reason deemed reasonable.  Costumes presented may not be obscene or offensive, including the insensitive or unnecessary use of makeup, nor endorse any form of hatred or hate group, or face immediate disqualification.

 

7. Costumes made to measure by a third party will be accepted IF AND ONLY IF the costume designer has completed and signed the entry form. The costume designer does not have to participate in the video presentation, but MUST be present during the video conference for the workmanship judging. Costumes purchased online are not accepted. Wigs, small props, and jewelry are exempt from this rule.

 

8. Judges' decisions are final. If the judges consider that no costume in a division is worthy of an award, they may not give an award.  The same applies to the Best in Show and Best in Division awards.

 

The System of Standard Divisions

The system of standard divisions has been put in place to protect the participants who are starting out in costume making, and also to allow for fair competition for all. A participant may decide to enter in a higher division than the one to which he belongs if he feels that his expertise is superior to that of his division; if he wins a prize, he now belongs to that division.  For example, a costume designer who has more than a dozen costumes to his or her credit, but who has never participated in a Masquerade, may be placed in the Artisan division at a minimum; however, if he or she wins in that division, he or she will now be required to compete in the Artisan division (or higher) in future Masquerades.

 

The Standard Division system, in accordance with the guidelines of the International Costumers Guild, will be used as follows:

Junior Division (also known as "Young Fan")​

Any participant under 13 years of age at the time of the agreement.  This Division includes two sub-divisions:

Costume made by the participant: The costume was made in majority or in totality by the participant.

Costume made by an adult: The costume was made in majority or in totality by an adult.

Novice Division

Any participant who has not won a prize or any prize other than in the Junior Division

Intermediate Division

Any entrant who has won one (1) prize in the Novice Division or less than three (3) prizes in the Intermediate Division at Masquerades, or any entrant who wishes to compete in this category and does not belong to a higher category.

 

Artisan Division

Any entrant who has won three (3) prizes in the Intermediate Division or less than three (3) prizes in the Artisan Division at Masquerades, or any entrant who wishes to compete in this category and does not belong to a higher category.

 

Master Division

Any entrant who has won three (3) prizes in the Artisan Division, or any entrant who has won a prize in the Master category at a nationally recognized Masquerade, or any entrant who wishes to compete in this category.

 

Out of Competition Division

The Masquerade is an amateur contest.  Purchased or rented costumes cannot be entered in the prize divisions, but may be paraded on stage in the Non-Competition division.  Costumes created for professional purposes are not eligible for prizes, but may also be paraded in this division.  In addition, anyone wishing to enter this division may do so.

N.B.: The Masquerade Direction reserves the right to change a participant from one division to another if the level of dressmaking does not meet the division's criteria.

 

Workmanship Excellency

Evaluation of the garment takes place behind the scenes, before the Masquerade begins. These awards recognize excellence in costume construction. You can be judged on the costume as a whole or on a specific piece or accessory. Costume construction judging is mandatory for Artisans and Master divisions, but is strongly suggested for other divisions (except Out-of-Competition). Quality work deserves to be rewarded regardless of Division. Our judges will pay particular attention to the materials and fabrics chosen, the cut of the garment, the finish, the technical mastery of the participant, etc... Judges must be notified of the parts made and those purchased.

 

If you have any questions, please contact the Masquerade Direction at genevieve.levasseur@ganime.ca.

Photos

© 2020 G-Anime

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Mascarade

Mascarade Virtuelle

G-Anime 2020

Le confinement t’a inspiré un nouveau costume? La quarantaine t’a donné la motivation pour commencer ou terminer un projet de cosplay? 

Tu es triste de ne pas avoir pu présenter ton nouveau cosplay dû à l’annulation

des conventions en présentiel cet été? 

 

Si tu as répondu ‘oui’ à une ou plus de ces questions, réjouis-toi, car la convention G-Anime présentera une mascarade virtuelle, et nous te voulons comme participant!  Attrape ta caméra vidéo, ton ninja personnel et ton pinceau à maquillage, car c’est le temps de tourner ton entrée pour la mascarade!

 

La mascarade virtuelle de G-Anime est un concours de costumes amateur représentant des personnages d'anime, de mangas et de jeux vidéo, de séries télévisées, de romans ainsi que de costumes inspirés par ces œuvres. Cette compétition amateure permet aux participants de présenter leurs superbes costumes, l'excellence de leur confection et leur créativité.  Ceux-ci seront jugés par un groupe de cosplayer d’expérience, qui remettra des prix soulignant l’excellence des confections et l’originalité des présentations.

 

 Les informations essentielles: 

 

Quand aura lieu la mascarade?

Samedi le 3 octobre à 19hrs.  La mascarade sera présentée sur une (ou plus) plateforme de streaming (Youtube, Steam, etc).  La remise des prix aura lieu tout de suite après la mascarade à partir d’un Facebook Live.

 

Quand est-ce que je peux m’inscrire à la mascarade? 

Les inscriptions se feront en ligne du 12 au 19 septembre 2020, ou jusqu’à ce que la limite de 40 entrées soit atteinte.  NOTEZ BIEN  que vous devrez envoyer votre présentation vidéo lors de votre inscription pour qu’elle soit acceptée.  Les inscriptions sans présentation ne seront pas prises.

LIEN VERS LES INSCRIPTIONS EN LIGNE

 

Quel genre de présentation puis-je soumettre pour la mascarade? 

Deux façons de présenter un costume sont possibles: un sketch ou une parade.

i)  Sketch (Skit):  une courte performance de 1 minute MAXIMUM. Peut se faire en solo ou en groupe (les groupes n’auront PAS le droit à plus de temps). Si le sketch dépasse le temps limite, leur entrée sera disqualifiée.

 

ii)  Parade (Walk-on):  le ou les participant(e)s entrent sur scène, posent au milieu de la scène afin de montrer différents angles de vues de leur costume, et sortent de l’autre côté de la scène. Une musique d’arrière plan est permise et doit être fournie par le ou les participant(e)s.

 

Le nombre maximal de participants pour un seul groupe est de 10, provenant de maximum 3 foyers différents. Nous n’accepterons pas de groupe ayant plus de participants que la limite permise ou qui ne respecte pas les mesures de distanciation social.

Quel type de vidéo puis-je envoyer?  

Pour être acceptée, la présentation vidéo ne doit pas dépasser 1 minute et doit avoir été tournée en respectant les mesures sanitaires mises en place par votre gouvernement provincial (distanciation sociale, présence intérieure/extérieure, lieu privé vs lieu public, etc.).  De plus, la trame sonore accompagnant votre vidéo se devra de respecter les politiques de Youtube concernant les droits d’auteurs ( https://www.youtube.com/intl/fr-CA/about/copyright/#support-and-troubleshooting ).

 

Dans quel format numérique dois-je envoyer mon vidéo?  

Les formats numériques acceptés sont les .MOV et .MP4.  La compression dépendra du site de transfert utilisé et sera mentionnée lors des inscriptions.  Nous demandons que vous ayez aussi la trame sonore en format séparée, dans le cas où nous devrons réappliquée la trame pour une meilleure qualité de son.  Nous communiquerons avec vous si tel besoin est lors du montage vidéo.

 

Comment se déroulera le jugement de la confection? 

Une fois votre inscription complétée et reçue, nous communiquerons avec vous par courriel afin de vous offrir le choix d’une plage horaire pour le jugement de la confection (fort probablement un soir de semaine, plusieurs soirs seront disponible dans les choix).  Ce dernier sera effectué par vidéoconférence avec notre équipe de juges (soit par Microsoft Team ou Google Meet).  Il ne sera pas nécessaire de porter votre costume lors de votre rencontre virtuelle avec les juges : vous pourrez montrer les détails de confections de ce dernier à la caméra.

Il n’y a que 40 places disponibles pour les entrées de type Sketch ou Parade.  Aucune EXCEPTION ne sera acceptée.

Pour souligner le travail des participants, des prix sont décernés aux meilleures présentations et aux meilleurs costumes.

Règlements de la Mascarade

Virtuelle G-Anime 2020

1. Le tournage des présentations vidéos se DOIVENT de respecter les mesures sanitaires et de distanciation social mis en place par les gouvernements provinciaux.

2. Aucune nudité flagrante. La Mascarade est classé «G mais déconseillé aux jeunes enfants»: Une œuvre classée «Visa général» peut comporter certaines scènes de violence. Ces dernières seront toutefois peu nombreuses, peu intenses ou présentées sans complaisance. Selon le contexte, certains écarts de langage sont acceptés. (Régie du Cinema, Québec  http://www.rcq.qc.ca/index.asp )

 

3. Aucune arme à feu réelle, aucune copie réaliste et aucune arme à projectile ne sont permises. Aucune arme blanche, à lame de métal aiguisée ou non ne sont permise.

 

4. Chaque participant ne peut se présenter qu’une seule fois durant la Mascarade. Cependant tout individu peut présenter autant de costumes qu’il le désire, mais il ne peut en porter qu’un.  Les autres costumes doivent être présentés par d’autres participants faisant parti du même groupe.

 

5. Les participants doivent absolument de remettre leur vidéo lors de leur inscription, en utilisant le site de partage désigné (qui sera précisé au moment des inscriptions).  AUCUNE EXEPTION NE SERA ACCEPTÉE.  Notez que seulement les cas de force majeure peuvent vous exempter de cette règle («Act of God»).

 

6. La Direction de la Mascarade se réserve le droit d’éliminer quiconque de la compétition si les participants manquent de respect, de décence, présentent un danger pour l’audience et/ou les autres participants, ou pour tout autre motif jugé raisonnable.  Les costumes présentés ne peuvent pas être obscènes ou offensants, y compris l'utilisation insensible ou inutile de maquillage, ni n'endosse aucune forme de haine ou aucun groupe haineux, sous peine de disqualification immédiate.

 

7. Les costumes faits sur mesure par une tierce personne seront acceptés  SI ET SEULEMENT SI  le costumier a rempli et signé la feuille d’inscription. Le costumier n’a pas à participer à la présentation vidéo, mais DOIT être présent lors de la vidéoconférence pour le jugement de la confection. Les costumes achetés en ligne ne sont pas acceptés. Les perruques, les petits accessoires et les bijoux sont exemptés de cette règle.

 

8. Les décisions des juges sont finales. Si les juges considèrent qu'aucun costume d'une division ne mérite un prix, ils peuvent ne pas en donner.  Cela en va de même en ce qui concerne le prix « Meilleur de l'évènement » (Best in Show) et le prix « Meilleur de la division » (Best in Division).

Le système de divisions standards

Le système des divisions standards a été mis en place pour protéger les participants qui commencent en confection de costume, et aussi permettre une compétition équitable pour tous. Un participant peut décider de s’inscrire dans une division plus élevée que celle à laquelle il appartient, s’il juge que son expertise est supérieure à celle de sa division ; s’il gagne un prix, il appartient désormais à cette division.  Par exemple, un(e) costumadier(ère) qui a plus d’une douzaine de costumes à son actif, mais qui n’a jamais participer à une mascarade, peut minimalement se placer dans la division Artisan; cependant, si il/elle gagne dans cette division, il/elle devra désormais se présenter dans la division Artisan (ou plus élevé) lors de futures mascarades.

 

Le système des Divisions Standards, en accord avec les lignes directrices de la Guilde Internationale des Costumiers, sera utilisé comme suit:

 Division Junior (aussi connu sous le nom de « Jeune Fan ») 
Tout participant de moins de 13 ans au moment de la convention.  Cette Division inclut deux sous-divisions:

Costume fait par le participant: Le costume a été fait en majorité ou en totalité par le participant

Costume fait par un adulte: Le costume a été fait en majorité ou en totalité par un adulte.

 Division Novice 
Tout participant n’ayant pas gagné de prix ou aucun prix autre que dans la division Junior.

 Division Intermédiaire 
Tout participant ayant gagné un (1) prix dans la Division Novice ou moins de trois (3) prix dans la division Intermédiaire à des Mascarades, ou tout participant désirant participer dans cette catégorie et qui n’appartient pas à une catégorie plus élevée.

 Division Artisan 
Tout participant ayant gagné trois (3) prix dans la Division Intermédiaire ou moins de trois (3) prix dans la division Artisan à des Mascarades, ou tout participant désirant participer dans cette catégorie et qui n’appartient pas à une catégorie plus élevée.

 Division Maître 
Tout participant ayant gagné trois (3) prix dans la Division Artisan, ou tout participant ayant gagné un prix dans la catégorie Maître Costumier à une Mascarade reconnue au niveau national, ou tout participant désirant participer dans cette catégorie.

 Division Hors-Compétition 
La Mascarade est un concours amateur.  Les costumes achetés ou loués ne peuvent être inscrits dans les divisions avec prix, mais peuvent être paradés sur la scène dans la division Hors-Compétition. Les costumes créés à des fins professionnels ne sont pas éligibles pour des prix, mais peuvent aussi être paradé dans cette division. De plus, quiconque souhaitant s’inscrire dans cette division peut le faire.

 N.B.: La Direction de la mascarade se réserve le droit de changer un(e) participant(e) de division si le niveau de confection ne correspond pas aux critères de la division. 

Excellence de la confection («workmanship »)
L'évaluation de la confection a lieu par videoconférence, avant la publication de la mascarade. Ces prix récompensent l'excellence dans la construction d'un costume. Vous pouvez être jugés sur l'ensemble du costume ou sur une pièce ou un accessoire spécifique. L'évaluation de la confection d'un costume est obligatoire pour les Artisans et les Maîtres Costumiers, mais il est fortement suggéré pour les autres divisions (sauf Hors-Compétition). Un travail de qualité mérite d'être récompensé, peu importe la Division. Nos juges porteront une attention particulière aux matériaux et tissus choisis, à la coupe du vêtement, à la finition, à la maîtrise technique du participant, etc... Les juges doivent être avisés des parties confectionnées et de celles qui ont été achetées.

Pour toutes questions, veuillez communiquez avec la direction de la mascarade au genevieve.levasseur@ganime.ca

Photos

© 2020 G-Anime

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram